Read The Dark Is Rising Sequence by Susan Cooper Free Online

Ebook The Dark Is Rising Sequence by Susan Cooper read! Book Title: The Dark Is Rising Sequence
Edition: Simon & Schuster
Date of issue: January 1st 1986
ISBN: 0020425651
ISBN 13: 9780020425656
The author of the book: Susan Cooper
Language: English
Format files: PDF
The size of the: 35.27 MB

Read full description of the books The Dark Is Rising Sequence:

This series is fantastic, and has been horridly overlooked, particularly so seeming that our current culture seems so fascinated with all things Potter. Not that The Dark Is Rising is anything like Harry Potter - not at all. It's thickly steeped in Celtic and Arthurian legend, is relentless in its exploration of a myriad of layers of history and time, and simply reeks of magic. I love this series, and have for years. Within the past two years, I introduced these books to my wife, who seethed with anticipation for the next time we would sit down so I could read to her. I'll do the same, given time, with my daughter - I'm really looking forward to that.

If you're a fan in any way of L'Engle's A Wrinkle in Time series, I have a feeling you'll dig these books. They're very much their own work, but I'm trying to give you a place to leap forth from.

Read Ebooks by Susan Cooper

Read information about the author

Ebook The Dark Is Rising Sequence read Online! Susan Cooper's latest book is the YA novel "Ghost Hawk" (2013)

Susan Cooper was born in 1935, and grew up in England's Buckinghamshire, an area that was green countryside then but has since become part of Greater London. As a child, she loved to read, as did her younger brother, who also became a writer. After attending Oxford, where she became the first woman to ever edit that university's newspaper, Cooper worked as a reporter and feature writer for London's Sunday Times; her first boss was James Bond creator Ian Fleming.

Cooper wrote her first book for young readers in response to a publishing house competition; "Over Sea, Under Stone" would later form the basis for her critically acclaimed five-book fantasy sequence, "The Dark Is Rising." The fourth book in the series, "The Grey King," won the Newbery Medal in 1976. By that time, Susan Cooper had been living in America for 13 years, having moved to marry her first husband, an American professor, and was stepmother to three children and the mother of two.

Cooper went on to write other well-received novels, including "The Boggart" (and its sequel "The Boggart and the Monster"), "King of Shadows", and "Victory," as well as several picture books for young readers with illustrators such as Ashley Bryan and Warwick Hutton. She has also written books for adults, as well as plays and Emmy-nominated screenplays, many in collaboration with the actor Hume Cronyn, whom she married in 1996. Hume Cronyn died in 2003 and Ms. Cooper now lives in Marshfield MA. When Cooper is not working, she enjoys playing piano, gardening, and traveling.

Recent books include the collaborative project "The Exquisite Corpse Adventure" and her biography of Jack Langstaff titled "The Magic Maker." Her newest book is "Ghost Hawk."

Visit her Facebook pages:

Ebooks PDF Epub

Add a comment to The Dark Is Rising Sequence

Read EBOOK The Dark Is Rising Sequence by Susan Cooper Online free

Download The Dark Is Rising Sequence PDF: the-dark-is-rising-sequence.pdf The Dark Is Rising Sequence PDF