Read Mountolive by Lawrence Durrell Free Online

Ebook Mountolive by Lawrence Durrell read! Book Title: Mountolive
Edition: Penguin
Date of issue: July 12th 1991
ISBN: 0140153209
ISBN 13: 9780140153200
The author of the book: Lawrence Durrell
Language: English
Format files: PDF
The size of the: 11.40 MB

Read full description of the books Mountolive:

Third in the Quartet and according to Durrell the “nail” that held the rest together. It centres on the diplomat David Mountolive and approaches the events of the first two books from a different angle with a longer timeline. This is probably the most autobiographical of the novels and Mountolive has many elements taken form Durrell himself.
At this point you realise who little Darley knew in the first novel and how much more complex were the ebbs and floes going on around him. Mountolive has been little in evidence in the first two novels, but here we chart his relationship with Nessim’s mother and move to the timeline of the other novels with a fascinating look at the character of Pursewarden.
The prose is as lush and tangled as ever and the descriptions have their usual power. With a diplomat at the centre it is more political; with European powers (especially the British) messing about in Middle Eastern politics. However as a counterpoint there is the relationship between Mountolive and Leila. I think the genius of these novels is the growing sense of looking at the same view from different perspectives; which adds depth and subtlety and there is now a 3D feel to the whole thing. Probably my favourite so far.

Read Ebooks by Lawrence Durrell

Read information about the author

Ebook Mountolive read Online! Lawrence George Durrell was a critically hailed and beloved novelist, poet, humorist, and travel writer best known for The Alexandria Quartet novels, which were ranked by the Modern Library as among the greatest works of English literature in the twentieth century. A passionate and dedicated writer from an early age, Durrell’s prolific career also included the groundbreaking Avignon Quintet, whose first novel, Monsieur (1974), won the James Tait Black Memorial Prize, and whose third novel, Constance (1982), was nominated for the Booker Prize. He also penned the celebrated travel memoir Bitter Lemons of Cyprus (1957), which won the Duff Cooper Prize. Durrell corresponded with author Henry Miller for forty-five years, and Miller influenced much of his early work, including a provocative and controversial novel, The Black Book (1938). Durrell died in France in 1990.

Ebooks PDF Epub

Add a comment to Mountolive

Read EBOOK Mountolive by Lawrence Durrell Online free

Download Mountolive PDF: mountolive.pdf Mountolive PDF